Per the Arnold Barn website, Walter Arnold built his dairy barn in 1928 at the base of Mt Werner (then know as Storm Mountain) long before the idea of a major ski area existed. The barn was the centerpiece of the Arnold family's ranch and diary farm. In 1961, the Arnold's retired from agriculture and the newly formed Storm Mountain Ski Corporation purchased the property to allow access to the fledgling resort. For many years the barn was used for ski area storage and a backdrop for ski advertising photos. Over the years, the ownership of the property changed hands multiple times and the barn suffered from neglect and slowly deteriorated. Through a public/private partnership in Steamboat Springs, the advocacy of Save the Barn and broad community support, the barn will be saved. This iconic structure and the face of Steamboat skiing that has been photographed millions of times by tourists and skiers will have a new home up the mountain and will be totally restored.